sta.r
9:33 am * 06.10.06

OK. I finally got my act together and poster a couple pictures here. The animal count for the week: 1 bear, 2 barred owls, 4 peregrine falcons, 8 million deer and 1 bobcat. The bobcat was the coolest because they are so rarely seen. I felt special.

And I have concluded that the only thing cuter than a baby deer is a baby panda.

We did all kinds of fun and exciting things like canoeing and trail riding and hiking up Very Large Mountains and swimming in rivers and seeing the battlefields and checking out the caverns. The really nice thing was, I didn't run around like crazy the whole time. Most mornings were spent drinking tea and reading Brittish mystery novels hanging out with my deer sidekick Bucky. It really was pretty surreal at first - sitting in the woods reading some English pulp novel casually talking to a deer standing 3 feet from you. But you get used to it.

For the next trip we've pretty much settled on Montana - we're heading out to Glacier National Park for some hiking and backwoods camping for a couple weeks in August. Much Bigger Mountains.

<<< - >>>


The WeatherPixie